Bushfire Protection Areas

In South Australia, 39 councils have designated bushfire protection areas within their council boundaries.

The bushfire protection areas are subject to bushfire related planning and building requirements. These requirements are dependent on the level of bushfire risk determined for the site. Click here for further information.

Maps showing the areas and level of risk can be found in council development plans, Location SA Map Viewer or Property Location Browser.

Ways to make your home more resistant to bushfires please see below Fact Sheet.

Bushfire Safety Factsheet(669 kb)